If you are into photography why not enter a contest

August 24, 2011

If you are into photography why not enter a contestThere are three photography competitions that are accepting submissions until Sept. 30 of this year.  Two of them allow you to enter your photographs into specific categories like Wildlife, Friends and Family, Architecture and Food.  Each contest has different rules and requirements for submissions.

The Aerial America Photo Contest is sponsored by The Smithsonian Channel.  The grand prize is $3,000 with an additional five finalists receiving $250.  Fifty semi-finalists will win Smithsonian Channel prize packages.  All submitted photographs must be geotagged.  Without the geotag, the photograph is disqualified.  This contest does not have an entry fee and photographers can submit up to two photographs per category limited to 10 photographs total for each photographer.  The categories are:

Landscape – Images capturing the beauty of the local landscapes, from sprawling hillsides to city skylines.

Locals – Images capturing the culture and the flair of the local people within a state.

Architecture – From iconic landmarks to century- old barns, some of America’s crowning achievements are found in the architecture we’ve constructed.

Food – There are few things more telling of a region than its signature dish!

Nature&Animals – Images of everything from native wildlife to beloved pets, from backyard gardens to our country’s great forests.

During the contest there will be a “Weekly Spotlight” photo.  It’s easy to enter. Just upload your photograph, geotag it and you’re done.

The second one is Pop Photo’s 2011 Popular Photography Reader’s Photo Contest.  The entry fee is $10.  The grand prize is $1000 paid either by check or a gift card. Seven first place winners will receive a $250 B&H Gift Card.  The winners will also have their work in the January 2012 issue of Popular Photography.

There is a new category this year that is the “People’s Choice” where readers will be voting on the photographs. All photographs submitted must be of reproduction quality.  Photographs taken from June 2010 to September 2011 will be accepted. There isn’t any limit to the number of photographs you can enter into the contest but at $10 a pop you might want to be judicious.

The final contest is Digital Camera Photographer of the Year 2011 (aka POTY 2011).  It costs £10 ($16.50) to enter.  You can upload up to five photos per category and each image should not exceed 5MB  and must be in JPEG format.  For each image entered they want  you to submit a title of the image, description of the subject matter, how you got the shot, and the camera details.

Your uploaded photos will be housed in your own portfolio on the Photographer of the Year site where it can be viewed by visitors and you.  Only members of Digital Camera Photographer of the Year or PhotoRadar will be able to vote and comment.  If the judging panel shortlists one of your photographs, you could be asked to submit a high-resolution version.  Winners will get part of the £20,000 prize fund ($32,921)

The 10 categories are:

  1. 1.  Action & Movement
  2. 2.  Family & Friendship
  3. 3.  Landscapes
  4. 4.  Wildlife
  5. 5.  Creative License
  6. 6.  Fashion
  7. 7.  Portraits
  8. 8.  Documentary
  9. 9.  Garden & Plants
  10. 10.Travel
  11. These are three inexpensive, easy to enter contests that could net you recognition and prize money.  Hurry and enter while you can.  Remember they all stop taking submissions Sept. 30, 2011.
Be Sociable, Share!

Recent stories

Featured stories

RSS Technology news

RSS Windows news

RSS Mac news

RSS iPhone & Touch

RSS Mobile technology news

RSS Green tech

RSS Buying guides

RSS Gaming news


Copyright © 2015 Blorge.com NS